Quality goes in... Cabinet Zenith reborn - AudioJunkies
Welcome to the AudioJunkies.
AudioJunkies

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2012, 09:21 PM   #1

Default Quality goes in... Cabinet Zenith reborn

Hello Everyone, I'm Dan from Oklahoma and I'm a noob to the forum (but not to life ) and I've got a project I'd like to share with everyone. I started this soundbox in December 2011 when I found an old cabinet Zenith Allegro for 20 bucks on Craigs List. After determining the speakers were good and all the knobs free of "crackle" I loaded her in the truck and began my teardown. So far I've: Replaced belt and cartage on turntable. Installed a Pyle pp-999 pre-amp (the onboard preamp was completely out) and hard-wired it to the aux. Turntable is now "satisfactory" next I cleaned, degaussed, cleaned, tore apart, rebuilt, and cleaned again on the 8 track assembly. After all this I finally got a solid speed out of my cartages. As any of you know that have worked on 8 tracks, the foam gum out of old tapes gets EVERYWHERE after so many years. Saddest part is my 50 pc. 8 track collection is now down to about half that. Anyone got a good copy of Dr. Hook? lol
So now my Allegro is mechanically sound and I put it to use as my entertainment center since my flatscreen is wall mounted. The only item I had to put on top of the cabinet was my HTPC. However, once I'd done that, I realized how crappy it looked sitting on top of this beautiful cabinet. So I've opened her up once again, with new intentions. By the end of this weekend I'll have my very own LP/8-Track/AM/FM/HI-FI/Blu-Ray/DVD/CD/WI-FI/HTPC zenith allegro... I'll post step by steps as I go along.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2011-11-21_18-48-02_889.jpg (89.9 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg 2011-11-21_18-48-16_136.jpg (90.6 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg 387886_2659129450480_1623233346_2360818_999299535_n.jpg (51.1 KB, 1 views)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!